#1 kaikai

kaikai

• Members
  • 4 posts
  • Spinal Injury Level:OT

Posted 28 May 2009 - 11:59 AM

Hello,
I am a french OT working in England.
One of my patients would like to try or buy a quad bike (he is going to get back to Lybia, where he lives, and wants to use it in the desert. He is paraplegic level T7).
I have no experience for this type of equipment so could you help me??!
First of all, has someone had an experience with a quad bike (paraplegic, level?)?
Is it safe, I mean can you lose your balance and fall?
Which type of adaptations do you need? (I imagine hands control... but for your legs, do you need something to hold your legs??).
Where did you go for the adaptations??
And have you seen an engineer or whoever before you decide to buy the quadbike?? (because if he decides to buy the quadbike, is he sure that the future adaptations are going to be suitable for him..?).

It is a lot of questions I know!

I m looking forward for your answers.

and have a nice day!

Thanks a lot,
Aurelie.

#2 OmniLee

OmniLee

• Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts
  • Spinal Injury Level:C6/C7

Posted 28 May 2009 - 03:13 PM

By your questions, can I safely assume you're referring to a motorcycle? If that is the case there are basically two options. A motorcycle with a side car with a ramp and controls on the sidecar. The second is a trike, three-wheel motorcycle. The second is cheaper, safer, and lastly easier to build and maintain.

In either case, a motorcycle with an automatic transmission is required. I may be wrong, but I believe Honda is the only company producing large bikes with automatics.