• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 libby

libby

• Members
  • 2 posts
  • Spinal Injury Level:none

Posted 01 November 2009 - 09:51 PM

I'm a massage therapy student doing research for a class on the effects of massage therapy for people with spinal cord injuries. First, I must say, this site has been wonderfully informative and educational. In my research, however, I have not found much on the use of massage therapy, specifically for those with spinal cord injuries. I'm curious as to how widely used massage therapy is, and if its use is restricted only to areas with sensitivity, or generally. I'm also interested in not only the physiological effects of massage on muscle tissue, but the emotional/social effects as well. If anyone on this forum would be interested in sharing their experiences with massage, either good or bad, it would be greatly appreciated. My class is only about 15 people and my report will be a power point presentation to the class only. I will gladly omit any names, and of course mention this site in my references. Thanks so much for your attention.

#2 wheeliebear75

wheeliebear75

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 3,867 posts
  • Spinal Injury Level:L2 incomplete ASIA-D
  • Injury Date:04-28-1990

Posted 02 November 2009 - 01:25 AM

I can not speak for anyone else but I do get massages & yes it helps at times. I have an incomplete injury; what that means is that I have diminished ability to move my legs & lack the strength.....BUT my legs can also be hypersensitive so massages have to be done when the hypersensitivity is not as high.